Reminding myself of the basics

Al33

I have been shooting my little Texas Comanche recurve for a couple of months trying to tune in to it for turkeys. I shoot my longbows much better but the shorter bow will be easier to maneuver inside my blind. Anyway, I have been trying hard to get 6 out of six inside a 3" kill zone at 20 yards and just can't make it happen.:eek: Several times I have got 5 out of 6 and a good many 4 out of 6's. I just got in from shooting about a dozen rounds of sixes and only got 5 out of six one time, and most of the time it was 2 or three out of 6.

While shooting I noticed I was dropping my bow arm and hitting low. I was concentrating on shooting at my one inch dot and getting tight groups but low. I then started concentrating on keeping my bow arm up and brought the arrows up but they were scattered. I realized once again I cannot concentrate on two things at once and here in lies a lesson for you begginers:

Form IS everything. It's the foundation you HAVE to have for consitent marksmanship. It has to be developed and kept in tune to the point all is second nature and you don't HAVE to think about it so your concentration for picking a small spot and getting focused on it can be used for the shot. The old, but ever so true adage, "Aim small hit small" can not be over emphasized and it takes concentration to do it. If you can concentrate intently on more than one thing at a time, then you are a rare bird for sure.:)

Hope someone will benefit from this bit of venting on my part, now I have to go back out there and try to remember what I just typed.:D Goin' for 6 of 6 and if I get it I might just take a picture because I may never do it again.;)

maconducks

6 for 6 in 3" at 20yrds. I dont think I can pull that off! I think my first few will be tight and then I'd start spraying them. I only have 2 arrows left at the wght I'm going to be shooting for turkeys. Another dzn should be here tommorow. I'll post my 1st 2 shots..lol

Al33