300 Win Mag. Fusion 150 question

jflog

This is my first time hunting with a 300 win mag. tried the fusion 150 in it. The accuracy is great but I shot a doe this past weekend and wasn't that impressed. The doe was about 40 yards shot her in the front shoulder dropped her but the bullet didn't pass through. I was kind of shocked at that. Is this the norm or should I change bullets? I like for my bullet to have a pass through everytime with a broad side shot in case the deer runs off I will have a good blood trail. Just wanting to get some thoughts on this.

Glock 21

With a 300 win mag you would think it would pass through even if it hit a shoulder or 2. did you clean her out yourself because if you did, you might know what happened to the bullet. deer shouldnt run too far if you hit them with a 300 anywhere in the shoulder.

The last time you started a thread on this topic you got a lot of recommendations for a 180 grain bullet. Your experience with the doe is an example of why. Get at least a 165 grain bullet and learn to shoot around the shoulder.

jflog

Thanks for the comments. I was also told that the 180 wouldn't expand much on close shots and being I shoot anywhere from 40-400 yards I wasn't sure of which grain to use. I think I will change to the 165 because of the results that I had with the 150.

I didn't field dress her myself because the processor I use prefers to do it himself, which I have no problem with that! lol

captainhook