So me and my dad are planning a trip.

ronmac13

But we don't know what to do,

So I was wondering, wheres some good places to fish from the shore for any type of saltwater fish?

Pole type, bait type, any advice.

Ive only been ocean fishing once so i dont know anything about it, any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

StriperAddict

I'm no expert, but you could search "surf fishing" right here on Woodys. I've had some luck putting shrimp out with a surf pole and waiting on strikes. Hit some flounder and whiting that way.

When I beach walk, I'll take a pole with a med. size jighead and catch some whiting that way also.
FL panhandle areas, incl. Gulf Shores, AL too

Where ever you go, get with the local bait shop... that's the first thing I do when I get in town.

crackerdave

The jetties at St.Andrews State Park in Panama City are good.Don't try to fish on bottom,though - you'll get hung up a lot.

Randy

All you need is a kayak and your on your way to fishing anywhere you want to.

Parker Phoenix

Google some of the marinas in the area where you may want to go. there is usally a fishing report that will tell you what is biting in the area. I might even suggest that you hire a guide for a day or even a half day, he may not tell you his spots but he will offer up a lot of valuable information.

ronmac13

well the whole trip is a bday present for me, so i took parkers advice and decided, i want to do some shark fishing in the florida flats, anyone know a good guide for this?

JasonF

Hey ronmac! Do you know exactly where you are going yet? Every area in Florida has different guides so it would help to know exactly were you are going.
jason

kentuckychuck