Mouth Calls???

preacherman

Hey guys.........I am a novice turkey hunter at best. I have tried and tried for years to learn the mouth call; but to no avail.

My question is, what is a good call for a beginner and what is a good, sound instructional cd or dvd to learn with. I don't know why; but I just can't seem to get it down.

Any suggestions would greatly be taken!

TOMINATOR

Preacherman...someone on here can probably get you hooked up with these calls as I'm not sure where to get them. Jack Flynn gave me a handful of them last year to try out and they are a really user friendly mouthcall...
Tom's Teasers.

I agree with Jmike. Go to Tom Teasers website and/or call the number on the website- Tommy's a great guy and he's always willing to help his customers.
I recommend starting out with a single or a double reed (with a cut for raspiness) to learn with. there are also triple reeds with thin latex and they seem to be easy to blow.
"Primos master the art series" is very thorough and detailed on their DVD and their CD. Will Primos is another great guy to deal with.
I hope this helps.

preacherman

Thanks Jmike! Just sent him an e-mail and hoping to get a reply with some suggestions for a beginner!

turkkillr

Ive never bought into the "beginner" mouth call having learned on a 4 reed split v call...My brother was in his upper 30's when he learned to use a 4 reed call also...Kids by far are the easiest to teach..My 7 yr old is running nothing but 3 reed calls.Some of them are on the medium spectrum..Taught my daughter on a 3 reed call and she is now better than most men in the woods..Having a good teacher will pay big dividends and not wasting your money on "beginner mouth calls" that are used as sales pitches by companies..I taught an older lady on the phone last year after she bought calls from me on ebay.Within 3 phone calls she could cluck and yelp more than well enough to kill a turkey..Just my 2 cent...

Doc_Holliday23