Mixing Ivermectin ?

doublebarrel

My feed store has Ivermectin for cows at around $35.00. How would you mix it to give 1cc per 25 lbs for heart worms for my dogs? Would it not make a lot more than paying $35.00 a bottle at vets? Thanks, BB

Grover Willis

I have been using the liquid Ivermectin for my Dogs for over 20 years and have had no problems with heart worms in my Dogs! Its the same stuff they use in heart guard! Its much cheaper than buying it already mixed from the Vets office when you buy it from the farm supply store and many times cheaper than heart guard!

Do not give the Ivomec straight out of the bottle to your Dogs, you will give them a huge overdose and it could kill them. Also Ivomec does not mix well with water, I use Propolene Glycol to mix mine with, thats what my vet uses!

A Mixture of 9 to 1, 9 cc of Propolene Glycol to 1 cc Ivomec is good, give them 1 tenth of a cc per 10 pounds of body weight if you use that mixture once every month! You can mix up enough in a small bottle to last for months! Or you can mix the Ivomec 18 cc propolene glycol to 1 cc Ivomec and give them 1cc per 40 pounds of body weight! Actually the vet I use now recommends that dosage!

So the 9 to 1 mixture 1cc would be sufficient for a one hundred pound Dog, the 18 to 1 mixture, 2 and 1/2 cc's per hundred pounds of body weight.

Hope this helps...

If you give the dog the correct dosage out of the bottle, how could it kill your dog? I just weigh my dogs and give them a 10th cc per 10 lbs and have not had any problems. I don't see where mixing makes a difference???

bobman

forget the proplene glycol its not necessary

Heres how to do this correctly

buy 1% sterile solution Ivomec at the feed store (do not use any other ivomec blend like Ivomec plus ect the plus has something in it not for dogs)

now go to the drugstore and purchase a couple syringes buy the one CC syringes normally used by diabetics. They are marked in 10ths making this easy to do. buy some needles also