Joined the Sidelock club today

weagle

I've been shooting an inline 50 cal for a couple of years and although the performance was great, I really wanted a more traditional gun. I had been eyeballing a .45 cal sidelock for the last couple of weeks and then today I came across a deal on a Thompson Center 50 cal that I couldn't pass up. Took a chance on it due to the fact that the bore looked real bad, but a little JB bore past and some elbow grease cleaned it up real nice. I can't wait to get out to the range and fire it up.

The barrel twist is not marked. Do any of you own one of these? and what deer load are you using ? I've got 295 gr powerbelts & 240 gr hornady xtb w/sabots but I will switch if something else works better.

Thanks,
Weagle

108876500.jpg

Buzz

The twist is 1-48". It's a compromise between the 1-66" twist used by rifles that are intended to be used for roundballs and ones with 1-20" twists that will stabilize a submarine.

I have one just like it and it's my favorite ML by far. I use Hornady 385g Great Plains bullets. They expand nicely, penetrate well, and blow a big hole.

weagle

7x57 I should have figgured you'd have a recipe. What type of powder and how much are you using? Have you tried the triple 7? Any particular cap or nipple?

Weagle

Buzz

Funny you mention Triple 7. That is all I use anymore. I use a 90g equivilent charge in my TC. That is a pretty stout load as Triple 7 seems to develop a little more energy than Pyrodex or standard black powder.

I put a musket cap on my gun for a little hotter ignition and use RWS primers.

My only gripe is that being left handed that sucker can burn me when I shoot it offhand if I am not wearing long sleeves!

Nicodemus

The Recluse
Staff member
Weagle, with my muzzleloaders I`m strictly a traditionalist and in my percussion rifle I use 70 grains of FFF blackpowder, 10 thousandths patch, .490 round ball, and no.11 primer.