Rape Advice

Timberman

This is my first time planting rape, And I only did because Woody talked me into it. :) I checked around and Coopers Seed had the best price and even delivered the seed to my doorstep. It is planted in good limed soil with plenty of fertilizer. The water bottle is 8.5 inches tall. It was planted sept 21. Is this about right for 30 day old rape? ::huh: One more question, can you eat this stuff? It's in the same family as turnips and such, right?

Last edited:

Woody

Founder - Gone but not forgotten.
Timber -- that is exceptional.

Looks like you're in fine shape and all you need now is a couple of frosts.

Makes me sick!!!! ---- floods killed all my Rape and there isn't time to replant. :D

Gadget

Yeah you can eat it, the guys that work the farm ask to pick our rape all the time.

You plot looks really good, the deer just started eating ours last week. Remember you can only plant rape as a single crop for two years because of diseases, a type of mold is what i've seen. This doesn't happen near as often if you plant it mixed with other seeds.

rip18

Yep

Tender leaves in salads & bigger leaves boiled with a big old hunk of meat. Crunchy corn pones, mmmm. Makes me hungry just thinking about it...

E

early riser

Timberman!

WHAT A RAPE FIELD! N-I-C-E![/SIZE]

Don't get discouraged if it doesn't look like they are eating it right away. Once the frosts bring up the sugars in the plants they should be all over it if they like it anywhere as much as the deer on Crabapple DO!

I posted a couple pictures below to give you an idea of before and after of our last years Crabapple rape field. Before long you will walk out to check the field and they will be nothing left but the stems.

Last year they hit our rape so hard they wore it down to the bare mud in places.

Sorry...., Pictures have since been removed.

early riser

E

early riser

Here's an after shot, once they begain to really EAT on Crabapples rape plot.