Help with lights...

kushin

Hey guys, I'm new to this bowfishin game and have been about 3 times just using a handheld spotlight instead of mounted lights... I was going to rig up some shop lights I had. I have 4 250 watt lights right now but was gonna get a couple more... Is 250 watts/light enough? And what size generator would I need? One large one or 2 small ones? Any help would be appreciated!!!! Thanks!!!

Augustabowhunter

I would get a 5500 watt gen. That will let you put more light later if you want. What size is your boat? Gens are not light. 250 are ok if you have clear water. Home depot has a green shop light. They are about 35 bucks each. They can be 250watt 500 watt or 750 watt. Post a pic of you boat and it will help.

kushin

alright it will be a while before i can get a pic of my boat but it is a 14 foot flat bottom that is 6 feet wide so it's pretty stable. i just bought two 500 watt lights from lowe's for 15 bucks apiece. i now have four 250's and two 500's. i'm thinkin if i place em right, the 250's will just add to the 500's....is that right??? don't have a generator yet though... what's a reasonable price for what i would need?

SULLI

i would get a genny that is running on more then 3/4 power all the time if your running 4 250 watt lights then a 1500 or 2000 watt genny will pull them fine you just don't want to run 90% on the genny all the time it won't last long that way and just a tip none of them pull what they say they will except a honda or something like that so what ever watt you run just do the math and try to stay around 75% on your genny it'll last you alot longer that way good luck hope this helps so

bassnbuck