Bad idea to try and track in the rain?

GA_MTN_MAN

Hey. It's my first year hunting with a bow. I plan to try again this afternoon, assuming the weather isn't dangerous.
My question is, since I will be alone would it be too hard to track a blood trail in the rain? I have a really good spot but I don't want to risk not finding a hit deer.
What are your general thoughts? Would you advise a newbie against tracking in the rain?

rjcruiser

Hey. It's my first year hunting with a bow. I plan to try again this afternoon, assuming the weather isn't dangerous.
My question is, since I will be alone would it be too hard to track a blood trail in the rain? I have a really good spot but I don't want to risk not finding a hit deer.
What are your general thoughts? Would you advise a newbie against tracking in the rain?

Nobody can track in the rain. Dog or human. Just make sure you put a top notch shot on the deer....so you don't have to track far. Once the rain comes, the blood will be washed away.

mstew

Take lots of toilet paper or napkins. If you shoot one you can blot the ground in the direction or down the trail the deer headed and the blood will still show up on a white paper towel or toilet paper. You can also use poroxide in a spray bottle and look for the bubbles, though it may leave a scent trail for the deer and they will know something is wrong.

GA_MTN_MAN

That is a really cool tip. I will add that to my pack. I will also be extra careful with my shot if it looks like rain will hit.
Thanks for the advice.

ALL4HUNTIN

If you are familiar with your woods, then you probably know the trails.... Should you hit one (double lung ), should only go less than 100+ yards... Now, you should be able to see about 40 or 50 of that leaving you with about 50 yards of unknown... Watch the deer, listen to the sounds as she/he runs off and check the trails... If it is less than a marginal hit or shot, PASS ON HER/HIM!!!

Good luck...

GA_MTN_MAN