Question for anyone who fishies the Cohutta's near the Jacks River

THWACKG5

Does anybody know if its legal to carry a pistol (with a valid carry permit of course) while hilking to and fishing the Jacks river?? Im kinda new to Georgia and I've heard that area is considered a state park or something???? I dont know???
I just like to always have my pistol on me, especially being in a remote area like that, but want to make sure its legal..

TopWater94

It is a wildlife management area or ( WMA ) and the only gun carrying permitted is for quota hunts, on duty law enforcement. The hunts are in Dec and Feb and fishing is seasonal. But I say if you can't see it you don't have it. I carry mine, or bring the dog. Hope this helps.

allenww

Cuhuttas

Remember it is a National Forest - so federal rules apply.

I have never needed one up there. Beautiful country.

wa

Tightliner

Check the regs for the WMA. I know that there are might be som quota hunts going on (I'm not that familiar with them, I only hunt turkey and duck, not applicable now!), but there is really no reason for much threat. I'd be more paranoid going in alone with the threat of a twisted ankle than an animal or human intrevention. I've packed every trail there many times and fished most of even the small streams. never had a problem. Most of the areas you should be concerned with as far as human threat is remote areas with adjacent vehicle access. Most thugs would be too lazy to pack that far in to bother anyone. During the summer you will run into a few "day packers" hiking down to JRF for a few cold ones, usually they are harmless. Quite a few hogs in the area (seen them many times) as well as bear. Just be smart and they will be no threat either. Besides.... its a real pain takin a swim and comin up with a wet weapon to deal with:O.

Later

pnome

You're good. So long as you have a GFL (carry permit)

From the regs:

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES:
• Placing bait or wildlife food.