Leader Line Loop?

sullivanfire1

Why the loop in the leader line is it supposed to slide tight on the backing line? I am new at this and don't understand the thought behind the loop? Help Please. :confused:

Am I to assume I just tie a surgeons loop to the leader loop?

Thx

centerpin fan

I don't understand exactly what you're saying. The leader attaches to the fly line, not the backing. It goes like this:

leader to fly line
fly line to backing
backing to reel

Loops are convenient, but you don't have to use them.

Almost any basic fly fishing book will diagram all this for you. I'll try to find an online source.

Sargent

I think he meant leader to fly line.

If your fly line doesn't have a loop at the end of it, you can buy loops that attach to the end. You slip a small plastic sheath over the line and the pre-made loop and heat shrink it.

Randy

Or better yet, tie a heavy leader to your fly line with a nail knot then tie a loop in that leader to attach your regular leader to.

yaknfish

Like Randy said, loop permanantly attached the end of the fly line. Then slip the loop in the leader over the first loop and the tippet end back thru it. Pull tight. Easier to do than describe. The idea is to get a sorta rigid connection. If you tied a loop thru the loop, you'd have a hinge, and the leader won't turn over right.

Now, tying the nail not at the end of the flyline....that'll get you thinking (drinking?). Watch this: http://www.animatedknots.com/ and hold your tongue....just....right.....

Then once you learn it, you won't need it again for years.

While you're at Grog's and tying knots, learn the Surgeons knot, too. That's the one you'll use to tie on your tippet. You'll be standing in the middle of the river when you need that one.

bowbuck