What Can someone tell me about Herter Fly Rods?

DireWolve

Im just beginning to learn fly fishing and know nothing about it. I have acquired a Herter Rod, 2 piece. It has the greenish sleeve in an aluminum tube and actually come with 3 pieces, 1 bottom piece with cork handle and 2 upper eye pieces that are very similiar. Whats the difference in the 2 upper pieces? If you measure overall length its around 8ft. Is this a good rod? Would it be an overall decent rod for trout fishing? I have a reel too, I cant remember the name of it for sure I know its Orvis, Battenkill maybe? Whats the thoughts on it as well?

fishinbub

Anything Orvis will be high quality. The Battenkill is a great reel IMHO, and you'll find a whole lot of others that agree with me. I'll let the experts help you out with the rod. I've never heard of a graphite or fiberglass rod with two tips, sounds like a boo rod to me.

centerpin fan

I have acquired a Herter Rod, 2 piece. It has the greenish sleeve in an aluminum tube and actually come with 3 pieces, 1 bottom piece with cork handle and 2 upper eye pieces that are very similiar. Whats the difference in the 2 upper pieces?

I remember the old Herter's catalogue, but that's ancient history. The only Herter's fly rod I've ever heard of was bamboo. Is it bamboo? That would explain the two tips. Bamboo fly rods often come with two tips.

How did you acquire? It sounds like an heirloom. If that's the case, I'd pass on it for now and just get an inexpensive Bass Pro or Cabela's rod to start out -- or a TFO.

centerpin fan

I've never heard of a graphite or fiberglass rod with two tips, sounds like a boo rod to me.

Me too.

Echo sells a graphite rod with two tips: a stiffer "distance" tip for long casts and a softer "presentation" tip for use with small flies and fine tippets.

fishinbub

Me too.

Echo sells a graphite rod with two tips: a stiffer "distance" tip for long casts and a softer "presentation" tip for use with small flies and fine tippets.