Need help picking a Camera??

Coon23

I need help picking a good Camera. I'm still a novice when it comes to cameras but would like to start with a real good digital camera like the Nikon's/Cannons. My main goal is to find a camera that takes good action shots since I will mainly use it for my kids in there sporting activities, also use it for family pics and such. So I need to be sure I can change the lenses out. I was thinking of the Nikon D series(D60, 70, etc....). Was wondering what yall thought about which camera would be best for me? Don't want to get to technical since I don't plan on being a pro. Any help would be appreciated?
Thanks,
Randy

leo

Retired Woody's Mod 7/01-12/09
There are probably many cameras out there that would fit your needs/wants, check out this sticky and it may help you narrow the field .... good luck

Hoss

Yep the sticky at the top is a good starting place. Then set a budget and look for what meets your needs in that budget.

Hoss

rip18

You say you want to change lenses. That pretty much narrows it to DSLR bodies.

You say you want to take action shots. That also pretty much narrows it to DSLR bodies just because of the relatively quick shutter actuation once you press the shutter release.

You've said you don't want to go "pro"; that MIGHT rule out the pro level DSLR bodies. But that still leaves a heap of options.

I'd say start off with an entry level Nikon or Canon digital body. Hard to go wrong with either brand. Exactly which body and which lenses you choose will depend on how much you want to spend and exactly what you want to shoot. Without a little more info, about all we can do is point you to the sticky at the top of the forum.

If you provide a little more info and ask a few more specific questions, we might can be of more help.

Best of luck with your choices...

hunter rich