Opinions on a fly fishing outfit??????

Want to start trout fishing in north ga. with a fly rod. New to this, so , what would be a good starter outfit? What weight? Guess there is a lot of difference in fly rods , so that is why I am asking.

MadDawg51

Bowbender, I am also pretty new at fly fishing. For the smaller creeks and rivers of the GA mountains, I think a fairly light set-up is better. So, that would be something in the 3/4 wt. Long rods help my casting. But, the N. GA creeks don't favor long rods. I have an 8'-6" St. Croix that must be about the perfect lenght because it is way more than needed for the small creeks and not quite enough when I get on the Hooch. Don't spend all your money on the first rod, reel, line, and backing. You will be looking for more soon.

MadDawg51

trouthound

Go see the guys at The Fishawk in Buckhead. They have an unbelievable amount of experience and just what you need. In my opinion, the rod and line are most important. The 3/4 wt. is fine. Remember, "there ain't no point in having a nice rod if you can't cast that thing." (a quote/scolding I received from a really good guide).

Georgia Hard Hunter

MAdDawg51 raises a good question, What size water are you going to be fishing? If bigger rivers are the target then I would go with a longer 9' rod, if you'll be on smaller waters most of the time then a shorter rod 8 1/2' to 7 1/2' would be in order. Weight of the rod will lend itself to individual preference so if you got to shops like the fish hawk they will let you cast different weight rods to get a feel for them (but a 5 weight is the most popular)

yaknfish