Which One ??Mad River or Old Town guide 147

BGBH

If you had to choose between a Mad River Passage 14' or an Old Town Guide 147...which would it be..kinda narrowed it down these 2...I know longstreet1 really like his Mad River would love to hear some about the OT 147 if any of ya have been in one..They both weigh about the same & are the same money...

My paddling partner 90% of the time is my 11 year son.Just gonna use it to fish & hunt here around home & maybe do some overnight fishing & camping....

Yall have a real nice place here to discuss things & so far everyone has been more than helpful & I appreciate it alot..

Thanks
Mark

Randy

I say Old Town but I am admittedly biased as they are a sponsor. The guide is a three layer pyethylene while the passage is a single layer also.

BDD

If you'll be taking your son, camping gear and a cooler of food / drink, a 14 ' canoe is
To small. Some may disagree but I know ! I've been doing it for 30 years. The OT 169
Is an excellent choice for what you want to do. And there will probably be a time when he'll
Want to bring a friend along.

Randy

Tat is true. 16' canoes are better all around canoes than 14.

wgatling

Compare the boat stats to the comparable Mohawk canoe.
www.mohawkcanoes.com
Longer will go faster and straighter. Don't forget to measure your storage area. Canoes really don't like being stored outdoors. UV makes the plastic brittle.

BGBH

Thanks,fellars...

Compare the boat stats to the comparable Mohawk canoe.
www.mohawkcanoes.com
Longer will go faster and straighter. Don't forget to measure your storage area. Canoes really don't like being stored outdoors. UV makes the plastic brittle.

Those Mohawks are real nice..
I will be storing it in the barn.

FERAL ONE

Shutter Mushin' Mod
the guide is an awesome boat !!! it comes in a 16 also , that may be a better option as your son grows.

stasher1