Best gameplan for morning?

amc5

So I am in my second year of Turkey hunting. Still learning of course. At times, I don't have a whole lot of time to locate the night before. Any tips for first thing in the morning? Do you do a hoot? Fly down sound? What kind of calls do you make at day break?

Also, I was reading on here yesterday where a guy had a similar issue, and someone suggested looking for places on the ground and dirt for hen marks? Dustbowls? Can someone explain? Pictures perhaps? Thanks much!! :cool:

Payton Everett

Owl hoot early in the morning to make him gobble, set up close to him and wait for him to fly down then try and call him in.

242outdoors

Banned
if you dont have one located the night before then owl hoot at day break and see if you can locate one. then look at the lay of the land, where the birds usually feed and go during the day, and set up in a spot you think he would be comfortable going. you can set up 75 yards from him on the roost but if he doesn't wanna come where you are then he wont.

amc5

Thanks guys. Any suggestion on a good hoot call? I bought one last year and it sounded like a party favor.

bangbird

You don't HAVE to hoot. You can just lean against a tree quietly and listen. They usually gobble on their own, especially if there's owls calling, and even more so once the crows start going....

However some mornings they can be tight lipped and a good owl hoot is good to have. Some of the guys will chime in on suggestions..

Payton Everett

H.S. Strut Palmers hoot tube and the new H.S. Strut limb shaker i imagine would sound almost the same as the hoot tube. There are better ones out there im sure but these are just some of the cheaper ones and you can get a good sound out of them. I've had success with the hoot tube
This guy has a pretty good explanation of how to use one towards the end of the video

Last edited:

bnew17