baiting legal???

nativ

im new to Georgia hunting. I acquired a lease for turkey season in Coleman Georgia. I heard you can bait deer in some areas. what is the rule with turkeys? I love turkey huntin because of the interaction and challenge it offers, so to me its not necessary but I am interested in if you can or not.

fredw

Retired Moderator
Baiting for turkeys is illegal in Georgia. As a part of the law allowing baiting for deer in South Georgia, penalties for baiting turkey/bear became more costly. Check out the hunting regulations for more information.

gobble157

Im pretty sure that's a big ole' negative.

nativ

good deal. just makin sure my neighbors wont be baiting on either end of my property

nativ

any southwest ga turkey hunters with a report from last spring?

MKW

HaHa...it's just that "is baiting legal?" is NOT a question that I would trust to be answered by any message board...I'd look that one up myself!! Serious consequences if some internet expert steers you wrong.
I just found it funny, so I was playing along. :stir:

Mike

nhancedsvt

Banned
Crickets work good. I usually pick one or two legs off each of them too so that I can make sure they'll stay in a specific area.

fredw

Retired Moderator
HaHa...it's just that "is baiting legal?" is NOT a question that I would trust to be answered by any message board...I'd look that one up myself!! Serious consequences if some internet expert steers you wrong.
I just found it funny, so I was playing along. :stir:

Mike
Isn't that the truth. It amazes me that we frequently see posts that should be directed to a Doctor, an attorney, Law Enforcement, a Pastor, or maybe even to a spouse.:huh:

nativ

simple question. if you don't know you don't have to answer. like I said, im not and will not bait even if it was legal. simply curiosity

nativ

good to know so many ga hunters actually know the rules enough to give someone an answer:rofl:

fredw

Retired Moderator
nativ, from the Georgia hunting regs: