When dogging for deer, can hunter use crossbow or spear?

ACRAthens

Hi All,

I'm new to the idea of modern dogging for deer. I'm just curious to know if you've ever heard of hunters using more primitive weapons such as crossbow or spear to kill the deer?

I hunted boar last weekend with spear and am wondering also if the dogs just bay the deer or do they also catch the deer and hold it so the hunter can come up and dispatch it with a spear or knife (as with hogs)?

Jeff Phillips

Spear chunking is not legal for deer in Georgia. It is legal in Alabama.

fredw

Retired Moderator
Hi All,

I'm new to the idea of modern dogging for deer. I'm just curious to know if you've ever heard of hunters using more primitive weapons such as crossbow or spear to kill the deer?

I hunted boar last weekend with spear and am wondering also if the dogs just bay the deer or do they also catch the deer and hold it so the hunter can come up and dispatch it with a spear or knife (as with hogs)?

The dogs don't bay the deer. While some deer are shot as they mosey along, many are shot at full speed in front of the dogs. My deer club, along with many others, limit the hunter to shotguns loaded with buckshot. There are some clubs that allow rifles.

simpleman30

nevermind

what about a bow , or cross bow ? i have hunted rabbits with dogs and killed them using a recurve bow, been thinkin about using one to hunt some with dogs and deer but not sure if it is legal

secondseason

Retired Administrator
Also, you might find atlatl hunting interesting. I know that it isn't in keeping with the era or style of hunting that you are trying to duplicate but it is as primitive as it gets.

secondseason

Retired Administrator
what about a bow , or cross bow ? i have hunted rabbits with dogs and killed them using a recurve bow, been thinkin about using one to hunt some with dogs and deer but not sure if it is legal