Reloading question

leoparddog

I'm a relative novice when it comes to reloading. Never had any real problem with my 45-70 or 357, but when it comes to my 260 and tonight my 308 :mad:

The cases are twice fired in my gun - this is their third reload. Trimmed, deburred and chamfered. The cases fit the case gauge and will chamber fine before I seat the bullet, but when I seat and crimp the bullet, they no longer want to chamber and they sit just a smidge high in the case gauge. When I measure the diameter of the case necks at the mouth they seem to be about .337 - .340 and it seems like the Nosler BTs run larger than the Remington - all 165gr bullets.

Am I over crimping when seating the bullets?

How do you make use of your case gauge? I drop the case in and check the neck length and the case head with my eyes and fingernail.

thanks

Buzz

It's possible you have a short throat on your rifle and the bullet is seated out too far. The OAL gauge is the SAAMI max length, which COULD be too long for your rifle.

Carefully chamber a round (PLEASE use a dummy round ) making sure that you don't scratch the bullet and case any more than necessary. Remove the round putting finger pressure against it to make sure it doesn't drag on the side of the chamber / receiver. Look for "scuffing" on the bullet. If you have some scuffing then you have the bullet seated out into the lands. Sounds like you case is longer after you chamber it than before, which leads me to believe your bullet is sticking in the rifle's lands.

As far as crimping goes - you will probably find that you get better accuracy \ consistency and improved case life by not crimping your .260 Remington and .308 Winchester. I only crimp when I am loading for tubular magazines in lever action rifles and when I am loading for revolvers. Over crimping can bulge necks, which could also be your problem.