heavy shot and chokes qeustion. UPDATE!

sea trout

2021 Turkey Challenge Winner 2022 biggest turkey ?
hello!
so i've been reading all the heavy shot h13 hype and i wanted to try for myself.

qeustion is. does this stuff require a special choke of any kind?????????

i have tru glo, invector, and win chokes.
i no longer have the packages they came in.
however i do remember reading or seeing that most chokes are not made for different metal shots.
i'm no expert on this but i think those warnings were mainly for different waterfowl loads. but i don't know.
i'm hoping to be sure i can shoot this stuff in my chokes.

bass pro has 10 dollar mail in rebate per box on them also.

thanks for any advice!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag:

Last edited:

JimLandt

I'm pretty sure all TruGlo turkey chokes shoot Hevi shot. They came into the the choke market pretty recently. Look on their website. If you see your model there (like TG172, written on the side of your unscrewed choke), you're good to go.

sea trout

2 1300's. 1 older model and 1 newer model
1 835. no idea the age

thanks jimlandt i'll check!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brad C.

Well the 835 more than likely will give the best patterns with the .775 overbored barrel. I would says the TruGlo choke will work, but the others I don't know what you got. Another thing I'll add. If your going to make the switch to Hevi-13, you might as well ring out your patterns with a premium choke tube. In the 835, I would strongly recommend a TruGlo SSX .670, Indian Creek .675, or Pure Gold .670 or even a Jelly Head .690. But for the money, the Tru Glo is the way to go for $35 shipped to your door. If you want the link, I'll get it for you. I would also recommend you to shoot the Hevi-13 3.5" #7 loadsin the 835 and the 3" in the 1300. The Winchester will probably shoot very well with a Jelly Head choke. Or you can go with a Indian Creek or Pure Gold.

Thunder Head

Gone but not forgotten