Spooked birds

greggt4736

I'm new to turkey hunting and still just getting a handle on the basics and any help is greatly appreciated.

Saturday morning a friend and I set up at daybreak in a field where 3-4 gobblers were sounding off in the woods just off the edge of the field. I hit a few yelps on the slate and we waited. The gobbles seemed to get farther away so we decided to move in closer after about an hour. As we were moving down the road towards the back of the field we spotted a huge coyote (looked to be nearly lab sized) running across the middle of the field regretfully out of gun range. Then we saw 2 hens and a tom at the end of the field about 100 yds from us. Then one of the hens spotted us. There we were looking like two goofballs, the hen had her inquisitive head cocked sideways at my friend who had a rolled decoy in one hand. It took what seemed like an eternity and she finally looked away so we hit the deck and duck walked to the field edge and called from there. One of the gobblers we heard behind us moved in and was responding to my calls and got maybe within 30 yards on his closest gobble before moving back out. The birds that busted us never showed. We finally decided to call it a day before we spooked the birds anymore than we already had.

Well, I couldn't handle it and against my better judgement I went back this morning. The daybreak gobbles were few and far in between this morning. We setup in a log pile right behind where my friend and I had spotted the 3 turkeys the day before. A cutting and yelping hen came right up behind the log pile before taking off from what sounded like right on top of our heads. We called it a day again shortly after being busted for the second time.