Fly Fishing from a Kayak

ForsythGlock

Does anyone do this? I plan to fish the flats for Redfish off St. George island this summer, and I was going to practice by fishing for bluegill on Lake Lanier. I am a beginner, so I guess I need to practice fishing from the bank first, but is it even feasible to fly fish from a kayak? If so, any tips?

615groundpounder

Its very doable to fish from a kayak. It partly depends on what type of kayak you get. Some are definitely a lot better than others. I have a Jackson Coosa which is a very good fishing kayak. I like the ability to stand and fish from my yak which is what I do the majority of my time. I do not fish Lanier though from my kayak. I have a bigger boat for Lanier. I see many people kayak fishing Lanier but you definitely need to do everything you can to stay safe there. I definitely would not do it in the summer time with all the wild boaters at that time. Find a quiet little cove if thats possible. And if you are wanting to gear towards fishing for Reds. I would want to be able to stand so you can sight fish better. Its also a lot easier casting a fly rod while standing. But standing in a kayak isn't for everyone. Depends on what your comfortable with even though there are some very stable kayaks out there.

fishndoc

I'm gonna disagree with GP a little here; while I love to stand when fishing small lakes and ponds, for big water, and especially salt, a kayak that can cover longer distance fast and with less effort are more important to me. And fast yaks are usually not boats you can stand up in.

And fly fishing from a kayak for salt water can definitely be done, it's just a really big jump from beginner level. You might want to bring along a spinning rod for backup when you visit St. George.

ForsythGlock