15 Pointer-Pike County

RackNBeardOutdoors

I have been hunting this property for a few years now, and we manage the deer very well. I saw 20 deer last saturday, a couple of decent 8 pointers and some scrub bucks, and then 15 does. A few of my friends said I was crazy for not shooting the 8's, but I know what kind of deer are out there. I went back this morning and saw a spike chasing 2 does, and then this monster came out at 35 yards, he shouldn't have done it. The first thing I did was praise God, and then if you were hunting anywhere in Pike County and heard someone scream about 7:14 AM, it was me. I shot a nice 8 last year, but he is a 15 pointer, but I think only 12 are scorable, since three of them are right under an inch, weighed 170 pounds dressed, and 200 on the hoof. He has 7 on one side, 5 on the other, and then 3smaller kickers on the back side.

Attachments

• buck1.jpg
    buck1.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 1,824
  • buck2.jpg
    buck2.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 1,608
  • buck3.jpg
    buck3.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 1,516
Last edited:

RackNBeardOutdoors

Thanks BowHunter, that was a nice one you had that I saw as well. I know Jack, he goes to church with us, I think he is in Kansas right now. He has the record for Pike County, I don't know if you knew that. What do you mean when you say "it's a sleeper"

Jake63

Real nice buck there Rack. I know who Jack Martin is too and he has taken more than a few nice bucks from Pike Co.

Last edited:

leo

Retired Woody's Mod 7/01-12/09
Way to go RackNBeardOutdoors

Congrats and thanks for the pics and story too:cool:

kcausey

Banned
big deer

Thanks BowHunter, that was a nice one you had that I saw as well. I know Jack, he goes to church with us, I think he is in Kansas right now. He has the record for Pike County, I don't know if you knew that. What do you mean when you say "it's a sleeper"