**** General Weather Discussion Thread #8 2017***

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicodemus

The Recluse
Staff member
Nic, if that is a pic of you, I hope you have that framed on a wall. Great pic.

Yep, that`s me.

You gotta be a little crazy to fool with power lines period if you ask me! I'm a 23 year firefighter/paramedic and have taken more than my fair share of chances and been in some hairy situations for sure. But, for some reason electricity and power lines spook me! We were on a call one night during a severe storm when a tree came down on a main line on a major highway through town about 200-300 feet or so below our engine checking on a car off the road. The light put off by that thing and mostly the deafening buzzing burning sound was nothing short of terrifying! It went from pitch black to daylight instantly! I swear you could feel it in the air it seemed. I was about 50ft from the truck when it happened and I promise you my feet didn't touch the ground but maybe 3 times and my rear end was in the cab! Seems I remember Newnan Utilities saying it was a 100,000v transmission or main line??? I don't know what all that means, I just know it was mean!!! I'll never forget that.

My hats of to any and all who do or have done it. Its a thankless job that is 99.9 percent of the time taken for granted.

It was probably one of out 115,000 volt lines. About the only times I worked distribution, which is either 12,470 or 25,000 volts, is when we were on storm duty. This is the voltage that is goes to the transformers that feed homes and businesses. My main work was on the transmission lines that feed substations for cities, towns and some large factories. That voltage is 46,000, 69,000, 115,000, 230,000, and 500,000 volts. I was a barehand lineman. It paid more and we actually got on the energized wires to work. I can`t describe the feeling when your energized on a half million volt line.

I could tell you some stories....

blood on the ground