Which engine?

OmenHonkey

I Want Fancy Words TOO !
The Sterling 9.75 axle is junk IMO. I'd rather have the 8.8 anyday. The limited slip clutches in the 9.75 always seemed to give more issues to me. At least that's what I saw when I was a mechanic.

Dennis

My buddy's 3.5 has problems and there was metal in the oil pan said he needed a new engine.

normaldave

GON Weatherman
I enjoyed this video, and in general, agree. The technology has come a long way. Imagine getting a true SAE 395 HP and 400 ft/lbs torque out of a 70s vehicle (or even 80s for that matter).

rmp

Like others have mentioned, I suggest driving each of them.
I own both in older versions and can see pros and cons for each engine. Neither has been any trouble. The 5.0 at over 100K miles and the 3.5 at 97K miles. The 3.5 is harder on the oil based on blackstone reports so I change it at 5k no matter what. All said, I prefer the 3.5L for what I do. Towing separates them even more IME but they both seem to be well engineered. Either will serve you well.

Deerhead

I would like to thank everyone for their recommendations and sharing their experiences. I pulled the trigger on the FX 4 w/5.0. it has enough power for me and I save a few bucks. Well not really I spent more money on after market accessories. Please don't tell the wife! I will say the 3.5 is a nice engine.

The auto start will take some time to get use to. I like the quiet. But the restart is... unusual. Like Killmaster the dealer gave a lifetime power train warranty. I always do the scheduled maintenance. I now have to keep all the records. But it will be worth it.

Last edited:
I would like to thank everyone for their recommendations and sharing their experiences. I pulled the trigger on the 5.0. it has enough power for me and I save a few bucks. Well not really I spent more money on after market accessories. Please don't tell the wife! I will say the 3.5 is a nice engine.