Favorite flys

bear claw

bearded driveler
Alright guys im very new to fly fishing. I had a buddy take me out to his lake last weekend an we got on some bream. I had a blast im hooked. My question is what are some of your favorite flys for panfish. I will mostly be fishing the creeks here in northwest ga.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Sneaky Pete poppers work well, too. For creek redbreast, about any popper or small foam fly with rubber legs like a stealth bomber or rubber-legged dragon works well, as do small streamers like woolly buggers, small zonkers, and such. You'd be surprised how big of a fly they will eat-I catch a lot of big redbreast on big streamers while fishing for smallmouth.

3redbreast<script async src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

bear claw

bearded driveler
Thanks for the info guys. With these warm temps im ready to get back to wading in the creek. Looking forward to the weekend.

Paymaster

Old Worn Out Mod
Staff member
Little Yellow Spiders

3bkb0iulbzgc363zg.jpg

1xwp6n7iwtm7brhzg.jpg

Para Bellum

Mouth For War
Those are awesome Pay!

Killer Kyle

All the flies stated above are staple flies for panfish. *Small stealth bombers, sneaky Pete's, boogle bugs, rubber leg dragons,. Any panfish popper really. I like some of Betts poppers a lot...the ones you can get at Walmart. But I don't like the bigger bodied ones with small hooks. I catch far fewer fish on those because the hook gap isn't right. Fish have a hard time getting stuck.
To add some fun and variety in the mix, small foam hoppers are awesome. Just buy the smallest ones to can because see of the larger ones are too big for panfish.