The New Hands free law, I think it is too restrictive, What do yall Think??

holton27596

i look at it simply, in over 50 years i have yet to encounter a situation where I "needed" or "had to have" a cell phone. Ive handled everything just fine including several emergencies. and for those who claim it is "just for emergencies" Im still not on 911 down here in the swamp, so it would do me no good to call them.

transfixer

I'm self employed, as a freelance automotive tech, I provide my services to various automotive repair shops, a cell phone is a necessity for my business, so I'll have to figure out a way to handle calls when I'm going to and from different shops, hopefully the handsfree device will suffice.

hunter rich

Talking to a passenger is just as distracting. Drinking a cup of coffee or eating some fries too. I almost never drive with both hands on the wheel unless the traffic is crazy or the weather is, in which case I wouldn't be messing with my phone anyway.

:cheers:

tcward

If I'm not mistaken texting and driving is already illegal, and it hasn't stopped anyone from texting , or facebooking, or whatever, its just another law on the books that won't serve much purpose, City departments or GSP will be the only ones trying to enforce it, most county sheriffs depts. don't care to write traffic tickets, they want to catch real criminals, they concentrate on drug possessions, outstanding warrants , etc, if they see a sketchy looking vehicle they might use the phone thing as an excuse to pull someone over, just to see what else they might stumble onto, but virtually none of them will write a ticket for just that, unless you're a jerk to them.
This^ Just like adding another gun law....

someguyintraffic

Useless law. They cant enforce it. How many people you see stopped for it now? Saw a cop in a cruiser on his phone today. Another piece of bogus legislation by Deal.

GoldDot40