Reloading the 44 mag

tree cutter 08

Any tips or advice for reloading the 44mag? I've been reloading rifle rounds for about 10 years now and this will be my first go at pistol rounds. Going to use h110 powder as I've read a Lot of good stuff about it.

JeffinPTC

2400 powder is another good choice. If you load near max charge, Hold On!
If you've been loading that long, I'm sure you know not to lead your barrel with supersonic non jacketed bullets.
Maybe Briar Patch will chime in for real advice.

Mr Bya Lungshot

BANNED LUNATIC FRINGE
Been loading 44 mags waaay hot for decades with h110. Can’t say how much but far past max in the books. My father wrote me the number of grains to use in the book and I use that or less.
Probably shot 1000 plus. Factory loads are pea shooters. Please don’t take my advice and work up slow. Same two guns never an issue.

Last edited:

transfixer

Another thing to consider is what pistol you're shooting them in, Rugers are typically the strongest, and can handle max loads, some of the others not so much.

NE GA Pappy

Mr. Pappy
That's simply not true.

Hardcast bullets can be loaded into the 1400 fps range without significant leading.

when I use to cast my own, I always sized them with a gas check on them. You can put them right along with that setup and not worry about leading to much

tree cutter 08

I ran across beartooth bullets. They are hard cast with gas check. Haven't ordered any yet but would like to try them. Going to try the hornady xtp. Will be shooting out of a ruger 77/44 and a blackhawk. What would y'all recommend for a deer, bear and hog bullet fired from rifle?

Tom W.

Do you cast at all? A Lee 310 with a gas check, Carnauba Red lube, and a BOOK load of H110 is really accurate in my SRH. I haven't been loading for the .44 long. Just started in the late 1970's.

If you are going to use H110, PLEASE pay attention to the load. 2400 is a bit more forgiving, as is 4227.

jmoser

I load all magnums with H110: .357 thru .454.