A Welcome break from things political...

normaldave

GON Weatherman
So I dusted off the ol' gearhead brain, and tools to help a friend with his '79 Jeep J20 4-speed pickup. Started with a broken distributor drive, ended up with a rebuilt engine. This family farm truck is currently under the care of the third generation.

While this is an "all things motorized" style post, It just seemed ironic, The Red, White, and Blue, of an American Motors Truck, getting a 360 cubic inch dose of American V8 iron stuffed back under the hood, during deer season, well, it just makes an old school guy smile.
DsPd6HiV4AAYdEP.jpg

Bam!
DsPd6FxU0AA63aO.jpg

I vote for: "-Merica"
DsPQva6UUAEfsCX.jpg

Life is Good. :flag:

Jeff C.

Chief Grass Master
AWESOME!

normaldave

GON Weatherman
Thanks, I'll pass it along.
He's really brought it a long way from it's farm truck days, painted it himself, done the work himself, learning everything each step of the way, as he's not a mechanic by trade or hobby.
Before and after pics.
V__A4ED.jpgV__9F7B.jpg
I was concerned I had forgotten what I used to know, mechanically speaking. Good to be back in the saddle, turning wrenches on old iron, after a while.

KyDawg

Gone But Not Forgotten
What did the 360 come out of or is it a Crate engine?

normaldave

GON Weatherman
Original engine, freshened up, (well technically the second one, a replacement), dropped in back in the 80's from another donor vehicle. Factory AMC 360 V-8, Borg Warner T-18 4-speed, granny first gear, Dana rear.

This one went to the local machine shop, Two cylinders down on pressure, required a valve job, and crankshaft end play was out of spec, common on a 4-speed in a big heavy truck. Stock bore was good, so original pistons stayed in place, everything else freshened up. Upgraded to a Melling RV/torque spec camshaft kit, should pull like a mule team when done.

trad bow

wooden stick slinging driveler