Light weight rifle build

AVS23

I’ve been bit by the big of building a light weight hunting rifle. More than likely it will be a savage or Remington 700 ripped out and out in a b and c stock and have some other smithing done to it to try and keep it below 7lbs...

Here’s the quandary. I already have a 243 and a 6.5 Swede and I reload. I am looking at the 260 due to brass and bullets already being in my stock. It I have an affection for the 25/06... I know ballistically there’s on a few FPS difeeence with both shooting 120g bullets. Anyone have first hand experience on sounding capabilities of both. I have yet to take a deer with my Swede so that has yet to weigh on the decision.

Bullet selection is better in the 6.5, but it seems that the 25/06 may be a better wounding performer. Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

transfixer

I have no experience with the .260, but have some with the .25-06, its a devastating round with 110-120gr reloads, but being a long action cartridge I'm thinking you might be better off with a short action round like the .260 in a lightweight rifle, I'm assuming you're going to want a short barrel ? probably 18inch to save on weight ?

bighonkinjeep

Light weight hunting rifle you say. The best method of weight reduction I have found also drastically improves the handling and that's to cut the barrel down. After that check out the Leupold ultralight VX2 at 8oz and some quality aluminum mounts. Shedding steel works way better than trying to lose ounces with plastic and wood.
If you are at the mercy of retail aftermarket to do a build, its most likely going to be way way more economical and practical with a better end result to buy a Savage Lightweight Hunter ready to rock at 5.5# and less than $500 in stainless. It comes with a spiral fluted bolt, lightweight stock, lightening cuts milled out of the receiver, and a thin profile 20" barrel.