New Georgia Rut Map!

tonyrittenhouse

map

Love the map. I totally agree with the map for Burke County. But disagree for extreme west Chattooga County. I hunt close to the Alabama state line in Chattooga and the rut does not happen until January after deer season has closed. I have been hunting the same property for 3 years and run alot of trail cams the fawns are normally born in July each year on this property. Also, scrapes don't start showing up until the last week in Dec. and I get a lot of pic's of bucks chasing doe in late Jan. I did enjoy the map and it is correct for a lot of areas just not western Chattooga.

Bioguy

This was an excellent collaborative effort among GADNR, the UGA Deer Lab, and GADOT. All in all, the map should be pretty close to peak rut for most counties, and based on the feedback so far, that looks to be fairly true. As more deer-vehicle collision data is added in the upcoming years, the map should get increasingly accurate.

The science behind this map is that deer-vehicle collisions serve as an index for deer movement (i.e. the more deer move, the more they get hit by vehicles...common sense right?). In other words, if you know the rut is quickly approaching and you see a lot of dead deer on the side of the road...it's time to take a "sick day" and get in a stand :). Good luck everyone!

Gone Fishin

Can you do the following with the data: For each county use the historical collision data and graph for the months of Oct, Nov, Dec, showing collisions/day? Start with Cook county, since I asked first. (hystograms)

Should show some sort of bimodal or maybe even trimodal movement. First & 2nd ruts...

Amoo

Full rut in Berrien County same week as full moon. Think I'm gonna shoot a Sasquatch this year.

C.Killmaster

Georgia Deer Biologist