GON Magazine | GON Classifieds

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Fishing > Freshwater Fishing
Notices



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2017, 07:34 PM
harderthansoft's Avatar
harderthansoft harderthansoft is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: lagrange ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default Troubleshooting Garmin bail mount.

I am having issues with my garmin 73 sv. But I think it's the bail mount. I don't have a ohm meter. But I have a cheap little test light. The power cable has 1 female port hot. The other 3 nothing. When I remove my head unit, there is a 24 pin connector. I can't get that test light to light up on any of the female ports. I'm not sure which one of the 24 pins should have power. And I can't find a schematic on line.
If anyone has any info please help. I'm tempted to spend 30.00 on eBay on a replacement. But right now I'm not sure if it's the head unit or the bail mount.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2017, 10:31 AM
harderthansoft's Avatar
harderthansoft harderthansoft is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: lagrange ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I have ordered a new bail mount. I hope that's the issue. I don't particularly like the unit being 2 pieces.

One time I assume the two wasn't seated together. I got very lucky when it popped out while at full throttle on a windy day. It popped out and almost went into the lake.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2017, 04:23 PM
harderthansoft's Avatar
harderthansoft harderthansoft is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: lagrange ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Well that's not encouraging at all.So then how does it get power to the unit?
The bail mount has the pins in it that attaches to the back of the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2017, 04:34 PM
harderthansoft's Avatar
harderthansoft harderthansoft is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: lagrange ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

So I am assuming the picture is misleading on walmart.com and even ebay. Yes I bought it used like 6 months ago. When looking for the assembly that the head unit sets in I guess I've ordered nothing but the bracket .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2017, 05:02 PM
BoosterC's Avatar
BoosterC BoosterC is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tucker, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Sorry I misunderstood. I take it you are talking about the connection to the quick release bracket.
You'll need a multimeter to verify there is correct voltage in the power cable.

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/echoM...Install_EN.pdf

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/echoM...v_OM_EN-US.pdf

Last edited by BoosterC; 11-29-2017 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2017, 09:01 PM
harderthansoft's Avatar
harderthansoft harderthansoft is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: lagrange ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Got my new bail mount today. The head unit
works like a charm now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 Georgia Outdoor News, Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger