GON Magazine | GON Classifieds

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Woody's Campfire Talk > Camping, Hiking and RV's


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2017, 08:42 PM
work2play2 work2play2 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: covington
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default Camper hook up to house. Help please

I'm buying a camper for my kids for Christmas. I want to be able to plug it up to my house. I have absolutely 0 know how or electrician skills. Any ideas of what I need or how to start this process. Is it in death? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2017, 09:15 PM
transfixer's Avatar
transfixer transfixer is offline
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Douglasville
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

What size camper are we talking about ? New ? or older model ?


Depending one what appliances are in the camper, you will need to plug into either a 50amp circuit, or probably a 30amp, houses don't usually have plugins with that many amps, you'll probably need to call an electrician and have him add a breaker to your box and run a line and outlet for the camper,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2017, 09:03 AM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Most important is the camper 30 Amp or 50 Amp?

30Amp you can use a cord end adapter and convert to a regular household 20 amp receptacle and a drop cord to the house. Short term, no wiring needed. It will run the AC or microwave, not both at once.
50 Amp models use a dryer or range type plug, which is a 220v hookup.

Are you looking for a long term or temporary hookup?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2017, 03:17 PM
T-N-T's Avatar
T-N-T T-N-T is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: In the Dirty South
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

20 amp plugs will be the death of the AC.
Might run for a little while. But will likely result in changing parts as a result
__________________
I don't trophy hunt often, but when I do I am trespassing_____KyDawg
-Chief of Security
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:55 PM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-N-T View Post
20 amp plugs will be the death of the AC.
Might run for a little while. But will likely result in changing parts as a result
Been running mine this way for years when at home, only replaced the filters.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2017, 08:29 AM
BriarPatch99's Avatar
BriarPatch99 BriarPatch99 is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nicholls, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Wire a 50 amp circuit using one of these on the house ... http://www.homedepot.com/p/Connectic...FSVmwQodDZsClg

If the camper is 30 amp use one of these ... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014A0IRK...a-360040550520

You can always down size a 50 amp ...but you cannot up size a 30 amp circuit to get 50 amps ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2017, 09:47 AM
NE GA Pappy's Avatar
NE GA Pappy NE GA Pappy is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toccoa, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneB View Post
Most important is the camper 30 Amp or 50 Amp?

30Amp you can use a cord end adapter and convert to a regular household 20 amp receptacle and a drop cord to the house. Short term, no wiring needed. It will run the AC or microwave, not both at once.
50 Amp models use a dryer or range type plug, which is a 220v hookup.

Are you looking for a long term or temporary hookup?

Wrong.. No RV is a 220v hookup. they are all 110 v

Get someone who knows RVs to come and wire it up.

You can fry a lot of expensive parts quickly
__________________
"If it wasn't for the union, half of these worthless people wouldn't have a job."---Big Stephanie, 12/31/15 Buckfiddy Award Winner - Offishal Billy Strang Pusher
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2017, 10:19 AM
T-N-T's Avatar
T-N-T T-N-T is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: In the Dirty South
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneB View Post
Been running mine this way for years when at home, only replaced the filters.
You are a lucky feller. It kills the solenoid to the compressor for most people.
__________________
I don't trophy hunt often, but when I do I am trespassing_____KyDawg
-Chief of Security
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2017, 10:30 AM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NE GA Pappy View Post
Wrong.. No RV is a 220v hookup. they are all 110 v

Get someone who knows RVs to come and wire it up.

You can fry a lot of expensive parts quickly
no sir, the 50 Amp plugs are 220v.
Please research this further.
Two legs of 110v to the bus (220v), however there are few actual dual breakers resulting in a handful of 110v circuits.
Notably, driers come in 110v and 220v for RV use, 2 A/C units are generally one per leg 110v x2 circuits.
End result; the panel is 220v, breaker and circuit choice define the end voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2017, 10:34 AM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-N-T View Post
You are a lucky feller. It kills the solenoid to the compressor for most people.
I've had the A/C fail to start due to something else drawing load; inverter charger, electric side of water heater, microwave.
Worst case the start capacitor fails to start the compressor, usually trips the 20 circuit feeding the camper.

Now I won't tell you I've roasted a few cord end adapters pulling more than I shoulda..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-24-2017, 11:18 AM
Big7's Avatar
Big7 Big7 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Close Enough
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BriarPatch99 View Post
Wire a 50 amp circuit using one of these on the house ... http://www.homedepot.com/p/Connectic...FSVmwQodDZsClg

If the camper is 30 amp use one of these ... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014A0IRK...a-360040550520

You can always down size a 50 amp ...but you cannot up size a 30 amp circuit to get 50 amps ...
There you go.

I had a 30 footer not long ago.
Ran on 30 as long as the AC and microwave were not going at the same time. One or the other is fine.
NOT BOTH.

50 will run it all.

The trick is to get the heaviest cord you can find.
10 or even 8 ga. wire.

Been there, done that!
__________________
Ahh,,Nothing better than good ole southern "adjustable" religion...
Quote from DS7418
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-24-2017, 11:20 AM
blood on the ground's Avatar
blood on the ground blood on the ground is online now
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North of the Zoo called Atl
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

You got some excellent advice and direction in here.
__________________
What this world needs is more tackle boxes and less Xbox's.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-24-2017, 03:45 PM
work2play2 work2play2 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: covington
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Thanks to all!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-25-2017, 09:41 AM
660griz's Avatar
660griz 660griz is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hogansville
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
Boycott the NFL
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-09-2017, 01:43 PM
Bama B's Avatar
Bama B Bama B is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Savannah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

The 50 amp on my camper is 110 not 220.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-09-2017, 01:52 PM
660griz's Avatar
660griz 660griz is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hogansville
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama B View Post
The 50 amp on my camper is 110 not 220.
2 - 110v circuits
__________________
Boycott the NFL
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-09-2017, 04:47 PM
fndrbndr fndrbndr is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NE GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

If you plug a 50 amp camper cord into your dryer plug in be sure to take a video because it will let all the smoke out of everything that's plugged in.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-09-2017, 08:32 PM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fndrbndr View Post
If you plug a 50 amp camper cord into your dryer plug in be sure to take a video because it will let all the smoke out of everything that's plugged in.
negative sir.
As stated earlier, research this and you will find the wiring is the same as a dryer or range, 220V.
the house panel in the camper and the type of breakers determine the end voltage at the receptacles.

You will never be able to connect 220V on one leg from a residential panel.
You 'could' connect two legs of 208V from a 3 phase service, any 1st year apprentice electrician would know the difference in an instant.
3 phase is not commonly utilized in anything residential or campgrounds...
__________________
internet via wind-up modem. :)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-09-2017, 08:35 PM
WayneB WayneB is offline
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hephzibah
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

make it easier to research..

http://www.myrv.us/electric/Pg/50amp_Service.htm
__________________
internet via wind-up modem. :)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-10-2017, 04:47 PM
fndrbndr fndrbndr is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NE GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneB View Post
negative sir.
As stated earlier, research this and you will find the wiring is the same as a dryer or range, 220V.
the house panel in the camper and the type of breakers determine the end voltage at the receptacles.

You will never be able to connect 220V on one leg from a residential panel.
You 'could' connect two legs of 208V from a 3 phase service, any 1st year apprentice electrician would know the difference in an instant.
3 phase is not commonly utilized in anything residential or campgrounds...
His camper. Don't really care. Just trying to save him some money. Had an electrician wire up for my 50 amp camper. I asked him if I could just plug it into dryer circuit and he told me no. Said it would fry everything in the camper. I'm not going to take a chance. I have too much money in this one.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10-11-2017, 08:59 AM
660griz's Avatar
660griz 660griz is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hogansville
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fndrbndr View Post
His camper. Don't really care. Just trying to save him some money. Had an electrician wire up for my 50 amp camper. I asked him if I could just plug it into dryer circuit and he told me no. Said it would fry everything in the camper. I'm not going to take a chance. I have too much money in this one.
RV 50 amp requires 2 hot(120v), a neutral, and a ground.
Modern dryers require 2 hot(120v), a neutral, and a ground.
Dryers may have a 30 amp breaker, you will need a 50 amp for the RV.

You may need a new electrician.

Also, campgrounds may have wiring issues. Get a surge protection/electronic management system for your RV because you are taking a chance every time you plug in to a strange receptacle.
__________________
Boycott the NFL
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-11-2017, 09:58 AM
Greene728's Avatar
Greene728 Greene728 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Nut House
iTrader: (1) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I think what's confusing folks is the fact that an RV uses both legs separately. Basically a 50 amp RV has two 110 sides and nothing uses 220 total. It is true that when both legs are added together they equal 220. But the system itself is 110. This is the reason why when a 50 amp RV is plugged into a 30 amp site using a dogbone adapter that drops one leg not everything can be used at once. I understand what you guys are saying, but calling the RV 220 is not true from an operation stand point as everything in it is 110. I don't understand all the terminology, but I do understand how it works.
__________________
A man who leads but no one follows is merely taking a walk.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-12-2017, 01:55 PM
660griz's Avatar
660griz 660griz is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hogansville
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greene728 View Post
I think what's confusing folks is the fact that an RV uses both legs separately. Basically a 50 amp RV has two 110 sides and nothing uses 220 total. It is true that when both legs are added together they equal 220. But the system itself is 110. This is the reason why when a 50 amp RV is plugged into a 30 amp site using a dogbone adapter that drops one leg not everything can be used at once. I understand what you guys are saying, but calling the RV 220 is not true from an operation stand point as everything in it is 110. I don't understand all the terminology, but I do understand how it works.
I think most said the hookup is 220v, which it is. 2 - 110v lines.
Correct, the RV uses both 110v lines for 50 amp service. No 220v appliances in mine. So, I think everyone is correct.
__________________
Boycott the NFL
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:57 PM
fndrbndr fndrbndr is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NE GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 660griz View Post
RV 50 amp requires 2 hot(120v), a neutral, and a ground.
Modern dryers require 2 hot(120v), a neutral, and a ground.
Dryers may have a 30 amp breaker, you will need a 50 amp for the RV.

You may need a new electrician.

Also, campgrounds may have wiring issues. Get a surge protection/electronic management system for your RV because you are taking a chance every time you plug in to a strange receptacle.
Don't need a new electrician. I always use a surge protector. Trying to save him some money. But he can try it your way don't care.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 Georgia Outdoor News, Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger