Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Fishing > Freshwater Fishing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:23 PM
SWAMPFOX SWAMPFOX is offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
iTrader: (1) Check/Add Feedback
Default Anchoring

I realize this maybe a stupid question but since I've lost more than one anchor over the years, how do you attach your anchor line to your anchor?

I've been trying to figure out in my head a better way to attach the rope to the anchor eye other than just tying it. Over time the working of the rope in the metal anchor eye weakens the rope. Or is this just happening to me.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:40 PM
kmckinnie's Avatar
kmckinnie kmckinnie is offline
Patrolling The Halls At Night
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hancock Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I think they have a metal shield that’s U shaped so it don’t wear out so fast.
__________________
Howdy!!
I'm the VP of the useles Billy Club....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2018, 09:58 PM
SWAMPFOX SWAMPFOX is offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
iTrader: (1) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I think it's called a thimble but I can't figure how to get the thimble into the eye of the anchor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2018, 10:14 PM
klerchkatcher klerchkatcher is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: McDonough, Ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Is this what you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:23 PM
Cadillyak's Avatar
Cadillyak Cadillyak is offline
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alpharetta
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Depending on size of the anchor, I’d suggest using a few feet of chain. It holds the anchor on the bottom quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:32 PM
Mexican Squealer's Avatar
Mexican Squealer Mexican Squealer is offline
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: By the river
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadillyak View Post
Depending on size of the anchor, Id suggest using a few feet of chain. It holds the anchor on the bottom quite well.
this...you need a min of 3 feet of chain and plenty of scope.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:08 AM
klerchkatcher klerchkatcher is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: McDonough, Ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWAMPFOX View Post
I think it's called a thimble but I can't figure how to get the thimble into the eye of the anchor.
What you need is a anchor shackle.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2018, 02:35 PM
Rabun's Avatar
Rabun Rabun is offline
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sandy springs
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

[quote=klerchkatcher;11168197]What you need is a anchor shackle.



Exactly...use a shackle to attach the chain to the anchor and then another shackle to attach the anchor rope thimble to the other end of the chain.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2018, 02:55 PM
j_seph's Avatar
j_seph j_seph is offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: JawGa
iTrader: (3) Check/Add Feedback
Default

http://forum.gon.com/showthread.php?...ghlight=anchor
__________________
Where will you be sitting in eternity?
Smoking or non-smoking?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2018, 03:40 PM
kmckinnie's Avatar
kmckinnie kmckinnie is offline
Patrolling The Halls At Night
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hancock Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I use brake disc hubs. No big deal if one gets away.
__________________
Howdy!!
I'm the VP of the useles Billy Club....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2018, 10:22 AM
1gr8bldr 1gr8bldr is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north carolina
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I keep an eye on it and retie as needed. The rust from the metal takes it's toil on the rope
__________________
Marriage is like Black Jack 21, get dealt a 20 and you hold what you got. No plans of taking another card
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2018, 02:38 PM
gadeerwoman's Avatar
gadeerwoman gadeerwoman is offline
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: God's Little Acre
iTrader: (11) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Why not use a quick link to attach the thimble to the anchor?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2018, 03:55 PM
JackSprat JackSprat is offline
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NE Georgia
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gadeerwoman View Post
Why not use a quick link to attach the thimble to the anchor?
You can and a lot of people do.

I think the issue may be that as you get into the heavier weights, the quick links are not as stout as the shackles.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 Georgia Outdoor News, Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger