GON Magazine | GON Classifieds

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Fishing > Freshwater Fishing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2017, 07:51 AM
TroyBoy30's Avatar
TroyBoy30 TroyBoy30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lawrenceville GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default Lanier - Find the bait, find the fish









Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2017, 09:05 AM
Coenen's Avatar
Coenen Coenen is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cumming, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Those are nice shots and all, but where are the fish pictures?
__________________
All jokes now with 50% more walleye!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2017, 11:00 AM
TroyBoy30's Avatar
TroyBoy30 TroyBoy30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lawrenceville GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

those are fish pictures lol all those little dots
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2017, 11:11 AM
Huntin Nole's Avatar
Huntin Nole Huntin Nole is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumming, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coenen View Post
Those are nice shots and all, but where are the fish pictures?
__________________
Give a man a fish, he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll sit in the boat drinking beer all day.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:33 PM
littlejon's Avatar
littlejon littlejon is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dacula, Ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

The SI and DI pics are impressive. Can I achieve that quality with a Helix 7 Gen 2 out of the box? Does it have the capability?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2017, 06:07 PM
Coenen's Avatar
Coenen Coenen is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cumming, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlejon View Post
The SI and DI pics are impressive. Can I achieve that quality with a Helix 7 Gen 2 out of the box? Does it have the capability?
The Short answer is probably going to be "No". Looks like he's using the MEGA transducer, probably with a larger screened unit. Larger screen = more pixels = better res on the screenshots.

You can still expect more than adequate performance out of Helix7 on DI and SI. I've been impressed with my Helix 5 in both modes, even with just a couple of basic settings tweaks it's provided me some really nice shots.

Edited to add pics. Sorry, they're cell phone shots of screens, but you get the idea. Got them a couple of weeks ago, picked off several stripers out of these schools / in this area, so that's my guess as to what they are. I'm sure I could probably get better results with further tweaks, but these are fairly indicative of the performance I get on a regular basis with minimal fiddling.
Attached Images
   
__________________
All jokes now with 50% more walleye!

Last edited by Coenen; 12-05-2017 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2017, 08:11 PM
howboutthemdawgs howboutthemdawgs is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: georgia
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Pretty sure those are solix units
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2017, 08:19 PM
Andy O's Avatar
Andy O Andy O is offline
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Jefferson, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Those are amazing shots.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2017, 07:20 AM
TroyBoy30's Avatar
TroyBoy30 TroyBoy30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lawrenceville GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlejon View Post
The SI and DI pics are impressive. Can I achieve that quality with a Helix 7 Gen 2 out of the box? Does it have the capability?
you should be able to see the same quality with any mega unit with a quality install. I'd be happy to set up a trip to the lake to help you out. I'm running pretty much out of the box settings except the freq range, sensitivity, scroll speed an contrast

Quote:
Originally Posted by howboutthemdawgs View Post
Pretty sure those are solix units
solix 15
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2017, 07:11 PM
littlejon's Avatar
littlejon littlejon is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dacula, Ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I'm good with my 2D just want to clean up DI and SI thanks Coen

TB any help I'll take,
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-06-2017, 08:13 PM
Coenen's Avatar
Coenen Coenen is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cumming, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlejon View Post
I'm good with my 2D just want to clean up DI and SI thanks Coen

TB any help I'll take,
I wouldn't say your shots are terribly different from mine. Sitting still, or nearly still is going to affect things. If you've got some spots marked that you like, try having a look at them sitting still / moving very slow, versus cruising over.

The big "trick" for me has just been learning to match chart speed as closely as possible to boat speed. In my kayak, that means bumping up (all the way) to 4 when I'm running A-B(3-4mph), and back down to 1-2 when I'm pulling bait or actively fishing(0-1.5mph). Aside from that, I don't fiddle with much besides sensitivity(as high as I can get away with).

The thing I'm still in the dark about is when it's appropriate to switch between the lower and higher frequencies for each 2D and DI.
__________________
All jokes now with 50% more walleye!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-06-2017, 08:45 PM
littlejon's Avatar
littlejon littlejon is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dacula, Ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

I normally only use 2D so that's why the speed is slow. Vertical fishing in those pics. When I use DI or SI my speed will be 3-4 mph and I will match that with my chart speed. I just don't take many pics of my screen so I have no examples at those speeds. I have seen other examples of TB images with SI that was posted and they are impressive. Mine look just ok
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2017, 07:47 AM
TroyBoy30's Avatar
TroyBoy30 TroyBoy30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lawrenceville GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

On the console when I'm scanning i run the scroll speed 1 up from boat speed. My boat idles at about 3.2mph so I run scroll speed at 4. other than that, I max out the mega range for si and di and use max mode for both.

on the bow i run scroll speed on 10, max mode and high chirp
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2017, 09:17 AM
Coenen's Avatar
Coenen Coenen is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cumming, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyBoy30 View Post
on the bow i run scroll speed on 10, max mode and high chirp
What's the logic going on there? More "real time" information?
__________________
All jokes now with 50% more walleye!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2017, 07:39 PM
TroyBoy30's Avatar
TroyBoy30 TroyBoy30 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lawrenceville GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Yes. When vertical fishing I want the most up to date info possible
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 Georgia Outdoor News, Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger