GON Magazine | GON Classifieds

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Woody's Campfire Talk > On Topic -- Questions and Answers
Notices

Old 12-03-2017, 11:59 AM
Default How hard is it to change out a garage door opener?

I have a Lift Master garage door opener which has stopped working. When I press the button to open the garage door on my remote or on the wall mount, it gives off a loud clicking noise like it's trying to to work but nothing happens......then after about 30 seconds it stops.

I've read online and I think one of two things is happening but I haven't opened up the case to look at it yet.

1. The main gear is made of plastic and the teeth have worn out...

2. A circuit board has gone bad / lost some soldering

So there's a chance I can open it up and fix it.....but I was looking at garage door openers and they're relatively inexpensive to the point that if the repairs are gonna take too long, I don't mind spending $150 for a new one if the installation is quick.

My question is, if I go out to home depot or somewhere and buy the new motor section, is it universal to fit the chain and pulley system already installed in my garage? IE if I buy a new motor I don't have to go and buy new pulleys, track, chain, etc to match the new motor section do I?
Old 12-03-2017, 12:29 PM

It will all come together in 1 package. Might as well put all new back up instead of using old rail.

It sounds like a capacitor gone bad. Simple to fix. If it was the gear sprocket the motor would run continuous when you press the button.
Old 12-03-2017, 12:46 PM

There is a pull cord to disengage the gearing so you can open if the power goes out. Often this has been pulled and the teeth are not engaging fully. However, if you replace, Don't mess with the helper springs. They are "loaded", like 32 rounds for a double door, less for singles. They will get you hurt.
Old 12-03-2017, 07:15 PM