GON Magazine | GON Classifieds

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Deer and Small Game Hunting and Trail Cams > Deer Hunting

Old 09-17-2017, 07:40 PM
Default White Oaks

I'm very curious to know the range of the White Oak tree. I am in South Ga, around an hour south of Macon. I have personally never seen a white oak tree anywhere that I have hunted (Around here). All I've ever seen are red oaks and water oaks.

Am I just not looking in the correct spots? Or am I too far south for them. It seems every year I search and search but I can never run up on one. I'm no expert, but I'm pretty confident in my tree ID's. Just curious as to where I should look.
Old 09-17-2017, 08:14 PM

This shows their range as far south as Northern FL. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quercus_alba

When I am driving North on I-75, I would say that eastern sliver of Crawford county just northwest of Warner Robins is where I start to really see them from the road.
Old 09-17-2017, 08:43 PM

We hunt some property in Eastman that's about 200 acres and I've never seen a white oak on that property anywhere.
Old 09-17-2017, 09:14 PM
FREELANCE ADMINISTRATOR

White oaks are all down through here in South- Southwest Georgia, along with swamp chestnut oaks.
Old 09-17-2017, 09:29 PM

They don't seem to regrow after timber cutting as vigorously as other oaks do, maybe slower growing.
Old 09-17-2017, 09:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicodemus View Post
White oaks are all down through here in South- Southwest Georgia, along with swamp chestnut oaks.
Nic, I hunt two areas one is bordered by about 2000 acres of 30-40 yo planted pines. The area where I hunt is about 50 acres of a clearcut about the same age as those pines (about 30 years old or so). This cutover is flooded with water and red oaks. The other is about 4 miles from a fairly big river. It has the same oaks, water and red. I've yet to find one. I believe they may favor the river bottoms instead of the swamps I hunt but I could be wrong.