Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Woody's Campfire Talk > On Topic -- Questions and Answers

Old 07-12-2008, 10:55 AM

Default Out of state resident buying a gun in GA

My brother in law is in town and we are headed to the gwinnet show. Can he legally purchase a gun there and then transport it in the trunk of the car to PA? Or would he have to buy it there and then have it shipped to a ffl in PA.

I plan on asking the dealers at the show but I figured I would check on here before we went.

Thanks
Old 07-12-2008, 11:25 AM

He should be able to buy a long gun from a dealer, but not a handgun. If it is bought from a individual out front, or walking around he should be able to buy whatever he wants that it a private transaction. Just like buying it from the classifieds. The transportion I dont know about. As long as its unloaded and not "HOT" there should not be any problem. Im not an expert on GA laws but thats the way it is here in TN also I've bought a few at shows in Dalton and private sales with no problem. Im sure what ever I am wrong about will be corrected.
Old 07-12-2008, 11:38 AM

It is ILLEGAL to buy a gun from anyone other than a dealer from a state you do not reside in. This means DO NOT BUY FROM AN INDIVIDUAL walking around at the gunshow unless they are from your state. Buying from a dealer at the show (assuming they have an ffl) should be fine. When they do the paperwork, they will "transfer" the firearm to whoever buys it. Check out the faq site on the ATF website. It is very informative and easy to read.
Old 07-12-2008, 11:40 AM

Private sellers can not sell firearms to residents of another state, or a person who is a convicted felon, or a person who is under the legal age to own a firearm.
It is a felony.

An out of state resident can buy long guns only from FFL dealers direct.
Private transactions of long arms must go through an FFL if the buyer/seller is from out of state.