GON Magazine | GON Marketplace

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Firearms > Firearms, Reloading and Scopes

Old 11-04-2009, 04:37 PM

Default Remington 750 vs. Browning BAR

How does the Remington 750 compare to the Browning BAR? Is there another semi-auto to look at?
Just wondering.
Thanks Tom
Old 11-04-2009, 04:41 PM
Gone But Not Forgotten

I have no experience with the newer Remington 750. I can tell you that a comparison between the older 742 and 7400 models and the browning BAR is not really a fair comparison. The BAR (IMHO) is a far superior rifle.....but then again, it's a more expensive rifle too.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:48 PM

Are we talking about the awesome Belgian made brownings or the newer japanese made ones? Because you can't compare those 2 rifles.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Gone But Not Forgotten

Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty8765 View Post
Are we talking about the awesome Belgian made brownings or the newer japanese made ones? Because you can't compare those 2 rifles.
That may be true....but in my opinion (and it's only my opinion) they are probably both superior to the older Remingtons. I don't know anything about the 750s, though.

The only BARs I've had any experience with are Belgian Brownings and are excellent rifles.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:58 PM

BARs are hard to beat. Belgian BARs were IMO one of the if not the best semi-auto hunting rifle ever built. I want one, but not one made in Japan.
Old 11-04-2009, 06:00 PM

I am almost certain that no Browning BAR centerfire rifle has ever been made in Japan. In 1977, they started assembling them in Portugal but the parts were still made in Belgium as they are today. There are Browning trademarked guns made in Japan but I don't think the BAR ever has and is not today.

Here is what Browning has to say on the matter of the location of the manufacture of their firearms.

http://www.browning.com/customerserv...tail.asp?ID=90