GON Magazine | GON Marketplace

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Firearms > Firearms, Reloading and Scopes

Old 01-03-2011, 08:21 AM

Default Ruger #1 or Browning A-bolt Eclipse?

I am looking for a good rifle to use while deer hunting areas with the likelihood of a 300+ yard shot. I have narrowed my search to a stainless Ruger #1 in 300 win mag, or a stainless browning A-bolt eclipse in 300 win mag w/boss or 300 WSM.
If you're not familiar, the eclipse is the a-bolt with the thumbhole stock and 26 in barrel.
-
Does anyone have any feedback on either of these guns? Which would you prefer?
Old 01-03-2011, 08:37 AM

I've never shot a 300 but I do shot a stainless 270 #1. I have made a couple of 300+ yard shots with success and several 200+ yard shots. I've been shooting the #1's for about 18 years. 7mm, 270 win stainless and 6mm.
Old 01-03-2011, 08:46 AM

I've had several No.1 Rugers, and I love them. I own or have owned several other types of rifles, including those with muzzle brakes. My recommendation for out of the box accuracy would have to go to the Browning, although I'm not a fan of the boss. For class, I like the Ruger. If you're willing to work with it, it's possible to get outstanding accuracy from the Ruger. It's according to what you're willing to risk. The Abolt's likely to be the better bet. Thanks' for allowing my 2 cents.
Old 01-03-2011, 09:11 AM

i have a good many rifles, in various calibers, with various stocks, and differing triggers....that said, one of my most accurate i shoot regularly is a box stock synthetic/stainless a-bolt 300 win mag. only thing i've changed is the $25 timney spring replacement in the trigger, and it is a tack driver. its the best shooting stock gun i've ever had.
Old 01-03-2011, 11:11 AM

The #1 is an infinitely classy gun. I just love them and would prefer it over an a-bolt (just never been a big fan.)

Both will be plenty accurate out to 300 yards, though.
Old 01-03-2011, 07:07 PM