#1  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:26 PM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default Lowrance HDS 10 Please HELP

Well seeing how Lowrance's customer service is...How should I say... Not very good. Maybe one of you can help.
I have a HDS-10 and an HDS-7 linked together with the structure scan. The front (HDS-7) will not read the water temp. It used to work fine until the last HDS-7 failed. Lowrance sent me a new one....and now it don't show the water temp. I tried changing it so that it sees the same as the HDS-10.....but still no temp. Is there possibly a way to turn the temp on or off? I have looked with no luck.

Any ideas???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:32 PM
jsimages's Avatar
jsimages jsimages is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cedartown ga
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

check out bassboat central and go to the lowrance section and theres severals topics on this matter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 09:03 PM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Thanks jsimages, I just saw your post about the new HDS....and the replies. That is good information, maybe I can find my answer there. And good luck with your new unit. I love mine....when it works. Seem to have a lot of issues with it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2011, 09:19 PM
Nothin but Fish's Avatar
Nothin but Fish Nothin but Fish is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

You have to go in and select the temp take it off of global.
__________________
Tight lines....Bill Carson...<")))><
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2011, 09:22 PM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothin but Fish View Post
You have to go in and select the temp take it off of global.
This is done in the HDS-7 ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:17 AM
Todd Driscoll's Avatar
Todd Driscoll Todd Driscoll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sam Rayburn, TX
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Go to Menu, Menu, Network, Data Sources, Sonar. Set your water temp as local (the other selection is global). Then, under water temp make sure your HDS 7 is selected as source for water temp.
__________________
Todd Driscoll
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:26 AM
russ010's Avatar
russ010 russ010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canton, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

wow, these posts are helping me too! I'm finding more and more functions these units can do that I never knew were on them. Thanks Todd & Bill!
__________________
Bass Anglers of North Georgia
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:41 AM
Buzzerbaits's Avatar
Buzzerbaits Buzzerbaits is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

This is great info. I have been having the exact same problem with both of mine! Thanks for starting this Scott. Its really helped me out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:50 AM
Nothin but Fish's Avatar
Nothin but Fish Nothin but Fish is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Another couple of informations that might help....if you want to go to your waypoints or trails quickly from any of the HDS units press and hold WPT and when the dialog box appears simply make your selection. When your task is complete simply hit exit until you are back to the screen where you began. If you have a HDS 8 or 10 press and hold exit to get a full screen...then to get back the soft key legend simply press any soft key. Hope this helps!
__________________
Tight lines....Bill Carson...<")))><
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:51 AM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzerbaits View Post
This is great info. I have been having the exact same problem with both of mine! Thanks for starting this Scott. Its really helped me out.
I think I need to take a class with Todd Driscoll!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-01-2011, 10:11 AM
pbmang's Avatar
pbmang pbmang is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Acworth
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

You need to talk to the guy that posted above you. He is probably the best around when it comes to Lowrance HDS systems. I'm pretty sure you can shoot him a PM and he will take you out and show you how everything works together.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-2011, 12:37 PM
Todd Driscoll's Avatar
Todd Driscoll Todd Driscoll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sam Rayburn, TX
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbmang View Post
You need to talk to the guy that posted above you. He is probably the best around when it comes to Lowrance HDS systems. I'm pretty sure you can shoot him a PM and he will take you out and show you how everything works together.
X2

Bill Carson and I are now "officially" providing unit operation advice, troubleshooting, and CS support here. Locally, no doubt Bill would be the guy for first-hand instruction (I am in TX).
__________________
Todd Driscoll
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-2011, 02:36 PM
Lanier Jim's Avatar
Lanier Jim Lanier Jim is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gainesville, Georgia
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

What Bill and Todd said...and yep, local Bill is the Lowrance guru...but he can't catch a spot! :-)

LJ
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-2011, 03:34 PM
Nothin but Fish's Avatar
Nothin but Fish Nothin but Fish is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Jim you just won't let me count them when caught on a urig or blue back herring....

I do catch plenty though.....
__________________
Tight lines....Bill Carson...<")))><
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2011, 04:07 PM
Big Texun's Avatar
Big Texun Big Texun is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canton, GA
iTrader: (3) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanier Jim View Post
What Bill and Todd said...and yep, local Bill is the Lowrance guru...but he can't catch a spot! :-)

LJ

The real question is... why would he want to? Dang bait snatchers. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:37 PM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default It Works!!!!!

Thanks for the help! I took it off of Global and it works.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-01-2011, 08:32 PM
Nothin but Fish's Avatar
Nothin but Fish Nothin but Fish is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Glad your back in the game Scott! These things are electronic and just like any other electronic device there is usually something simple that is "making it do something you don't want it to" or keeping it from doing something you want it to. Let me know if I can help...tight lines...<")))><
__________________
Tight lines....Bill Carson...<")))><
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:52 PM
scottf24's Avatar
scottf24 scottf24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harris Co.
iTrader: (0) Check/Add Feedback
Default

Just wanted to say THANKS to Bill Carson! He has really helped me understand and troubleshoot my HDS units. I have spent HOURS trying to search the Lowrance websight and calling.(GOOD LUCK )
I talked to Bill and he had me up and running in 5 min.
Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 Georgia Outdoor News, Inc.Ad Management by RedTyger