GON Magazine | GON Marketplace

Go Back   Georgia Outdoor News Forum > Deer and Small Game Hunting and Trail Cams > Deer Hunting

Old 05-13-2011, 01:32 PM

Default Sweet Feed for Deer - Pros n Cons

I know it has to be kept dry.........I know its not as good source of protein as deer pellets etc

i've never used it before.....does it attract as well as corn??

just looking for an alternative to $11 dollar corn.......
Old 05-13-2011, 06:45 PM

You could mix corn in with it until the deer got used to it! For that matter some protein pellets also!
Old 05-13-2011, 09:59 PM
Banned

Do not use sweet feed for deer!!! It can cause lactic aciddosis in their system and it changes the ph levels in their rumen.A deers ph level has to stay at a neutral 7.0 and feeding deer sweet feeds are not recommended.Also when the ph is changed it kills enzymes and bacteria deer need to break down and start digestion of their food sources( browse,food plots etc..It's even more wastefull than corn.Use a top quality deer feed and you will be doing yourself and your deer a big favor.Pm me if you have,any health or nutrition questions and will be glad to help you out. Hope this helps out some.Thanks
Old 05-13-2011, 11:19 PM

Fawns can inhale the dust and choke on it
Old 05-14-2011, 09:13 AM

Thumbs up Good Info

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildlifepro View Post
Do not use sweet feed for deer!!! It can cause lactic aciddosis in their system and it changes the ph levels in their rumen.A deers ph level has to stay at a neutral 7.0 and feeding deer sweet feeds are not recommended.Also when the ph is changed it kills enzymes and bacteria deer need to break down and start digestion of their food sources( browse,food plots etc..It's even more wastefull than corn.Use a top quality deer feed and you will be doing yourself and your deer a big favor.Pm me if you have,any health or nutrition questions and will be glad to help you out. Hope this helps out some.Thanks
Thanks
Old 05-14-2011, 10:11 AM