.270 vs. 30-06

.270 vs. 30-06

Votes: 50 47.2%
  • 30-06

Votes: 56 52.8%

• Total voters

teethdoc

With all the talk abt. the new calibers, I thought we could have a vote on the old school. If you could only have one of the above, what would it be and why?

Woody's Janitor

I have been hunting with a 270 for 14 years and I love it.
Remington Mt. rifle.

Nitro

Banned
While the ol '06 is a great round, I do not have rifle chambered for it.

Killed my first Whitetail and many,many more with various rifles in .270. For me it's a sentimental favorite.

It kills with authority.

I guess I read too many Jack O'Connor stories growing up.

If you like and believe what Craig Boddington writes, a 270, 280 or 30-06 is all that is needed for most hunters.All these cartridges will do the job well.

I have killed 3 with my .270 this year (so far) :bounce:

AG

bilgerat

Senior

Ive hunted deer with both. if I had only one choice it would be the 06 . it can be used for most big game animals, the 270 is not my choice for bigger game [i.e. grizzly bears ]

sr.corndog

I have both but I use my Remington 280 most this year will be my .50 caliber knight just like the smell! :flag:

Buzz

You haven't mentioned what for. If you are just talking about deer hunting then the only practical difference in the two is in the mind of the person that thinks one is better than the other.

I'd take the '06. I have had too many deer tote the .270 off. I haven't had to trail the '06 more than 30 yards, and that wasn't very often. The .270 is just too fast for the shots I was making. The bullets wouldn't expand. I was using the 130 grain core-loct.

Lead Poison

My vote goes to the grand ole 30-06. :flag:

Believe it or not, the 30-06 shoots almost as FLAT as the 270 Win. Also, every 30-06 I've ever shot, grouped extremely well.

Now don't get me wrong, the 270 Winchester is an excellent cartridge, but if I had to have only one, it would be the old 06. ;)

George W. Bush for President!