A Christmas Story

jason4445

The Jew Who Saved Christmas

By

Jason

His given name was Nisal, but he went by the Americanized version Natan. Natan was the stereotypical, of what we call in the South, a New York Jew. A rather large man, with a big face, huge nose, penetrating animated eyes, a full mouth with large rubbery lips, a rather large belly and ham like hands which flew about like a symphony conductor when engaged in conversation. Although at times ornery and growling, there was nothing Natan loved more than humor, and his laugh was loud, sincere, and contagious, however, he could often times yell vehemently when confronted with the highest level of annoyance - which he often experience. During these times he would often pound a table, and blast out right and left with Yiddish phrases which those present probably would not wish to know the meaning.

Natan’s father came over as a young man in the late 1800's from Western Poland; by trade a tailor. The old man opened shop in the Garmet District of New York City and found his way into alterations for high fashion designers He did quite well. Being sincerely Orthodox he sent Natan to a private Yeshiva Ketana School, and later demanded his son go into textiles enrolling him to North Carolina State - one of the top textile schools of the time. There Natan met Elsie Greenburg, the daughter of a southern Jewish family, they married - something Natan’s parents did not really agree with because her family belonged to a Reform Temple, typical of the south, but they did not stand in the way, and after college Natan moved to northwest, Georgia. He went to work at a little chenille and bath mat mill owned by his father in law.