Advice on upcoming new firearm purchase

pacecars

As you can tell I like 1911s and have owned a lot of different brands. I am no expert but know what I like and try to listen to the experts that know what they are talking about. If you want a good reliable gun under $800 I would pick a Ruger and know that it will do the job. It just won’t have the bells and whistles

John Cooper

?Now I Got One A Them Banner Things
If you plan on keeping it buy a Colt, it will go up in value.

Springfield is a good choice as is Ruger, also if you can find a Canadian made para ordanance P-13 you will have a double stack commander !!!!!!

scottfrmga

Ruger SR1911 Light Weight Commander. Great carry .45. Looks good too. Mine has been flawless. Never, ever had a failed to fire, for any reason. And I only shoot the cheapest steel, aluminum or brass case I can get.
Carry with Federal Low-Recoil Hydra-Shok.
Good luck with your purchase.

View attachment 955768
I have always been a fan of rugers, had a P90 years ago it shot good but trigger was not the best. How does the sr1911 trigger feel?

Big7

The Oracle
Go with the Ruger. A full size 1911 is a little large for my EDC weapon. I do have just about everything else under the sun
and NEVER had a single problem with any
Ruger.

I have purchased 2 new one's in the
last 6 weeks.

Balrog

I have been shooting 1911s for a long long time now. I own or have owned multiple Kimbers, Colts, Springfields, Wilson Combats, and Smith and Wesson 1911s.

I believe the further you get away from a 5" barrel, the more likely the design is to become unreliable.

I would not own any 1911 with less than a 4" barrel. I have had uniformly bad results over the last 30 yrs with less than 4" barrel lengths. I have had some finicky 4" guns too.

I have not owned a Kimber in 15 yrs. I had a couple back than and none of them, even full sized guns, were reliable, and Kimber customer service was horrible. Maybe they are better now and don't jam as much.