Alyce Clover

Canuck5

Food Plot advisor extraordinaire !
:):):) Nice herd, too!

Last edited:

Triple C

George...Great looking plot! I've never tried Alyce clover and don't know much about it. Keep updating.

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
Looks great ?

Is this bottom land?

GeorgeShu

Milkman, yes this is lowland about 75 yards up slope from a seasonal creek. Well, the creek has run continuously this year but normally dries up during the summer. The trees in the background are where the stream runs.

Triple C, this is my first try with it. I decided I wanted something productive growing year around so I am trying this to see how it goes. So far so good, the deer are eating it. I will make some future posts as time progresses. We can learn together.

Alyce clover is a tropical legume but not a true clover. Supposed to thrive in the heat and humidity we have. The ph in this plot is 6.7. I did not add any fertilizer beyond what was put down last fall, supposed to scavenge well and grow in low fertility soils. It was recommended that I add inoculant since it is a new crop to the area and the soils likely do not have it naturally, so I did.

We will see what happens.....

BCPbuckhunter

Milkman, yes this is lowland about 75 yards up slope from a seasonal creek. Well, the creek has run continuously this year but normally dries up during the summer. The trees in the background are where the stream runs.

Triple C, this is my first try with it. I decided I wanted something productive growing year around so I am trying this to see how it goes. So far so good, the deer are eating it. I will make some future posts as time progresses. We can learn together.