Best Remington 870 Setup for Turkey

Doughdid

Well this is my first year really getting into turkey hunting. I have a brand new Remington 870 Express with a 28" barrel and no extras. I have replaced the wood stock and fore-end with Remington Realtree Hardwoods Camo replacements. It has a modified choke and that is about it. I am trying to get everyone's opinions on what I should add to my gun to make it great for Turkey season. What chokes? Should I use a scope or sights? What are the must have accessories not just for my gun but for me as well? Any helpful hints and tips would be greatly appreciated.

jnester

Well this is my first year really getting into turkey hunting. I have a brand new Remington 870 Express with a 28" barrel and no extras. I have replaced the wood stock and fore-end with Remington Realtree Hardwoods Camo replacements. It has a modified choke and that is about it. I am trying to get everyone's opinions on what I should add to my gun to make it great for Turkey season. What chokes? Should I use a scope or sights? What are the must have accessories not just for my gun but for me as well? Any helpful hints and tips would be greatly appreciated.

Hey man i have an 870 supermag with a 23" barell. Indian creek choke .665 and hevi 13 #6 should put u where u want to be. I have truglo sights on mine. oh yeah and maybe a limbsaver slip on recoil pad. Mine kicks like a mule.

typarker69

I got a 870 express also. I have a kick's .665 choke and tru-glow sights also like (jnester). I also put on the limb saver because I bird hunt with it also and when you get about 1 bird to every five shots :banginghe(no fault of the gun) your shoulder can get tired.

Good luck and you will like it.:banana:

hawglips

Banned
Get you a decent turkey choke in the .670 or so range and you'll have a great shooting turkey gun. (I wouldn't advise something .660 or tighter with a nice, long barrel like that.)

Trizey