Black panthers!!

reylamb

According to the AP wire this morning, local authorities have now identified this animal as a melanistic jaguar which had been declawed. They believe it was a pet that escaped during the recent tornadoes they had up that way. This animal is not a panther, not a mtn lion, not a black panther, rather a melanistic jaguar, which everyone knows exist.

I've been a wildlife biologist for almost 40 years here in GA with the federal government (now retired). During that time there has never been a documented case (photos, carcass, etc.) of a black panther and very few credible cases of panthers per se in Georgia although the sightings continue almost every year. There are cases of black (melanistic) jaguars, and leopards in the wild and in captivity as pets (?) but no one has ever, and I empasize ever, been able to verify the existence of a black panther. However, in nature, stranger things have come to pass and if the Lord God, our creator, wants a black panther, there will be black panthers out there somewhere.

doublebarrel

I saw a black panther run across the road not over 50 feet from my truck in Greene County where Double Branches boat ramp is now on Lake Oconee. I saw it and i have no reason to not tell the truth!

dawg2

AWOL ADMINISTRATOR

HawgCalla

I do believe we still have native big cats still roaming Ga. , never laid eyes on one, but I have sure heard one hunting a property off the mulberry in jackson co. .. you will know it when you hear it.. every hair on your body will stand on end,

R

redneckcamo

sorry i had a fight in tha middle of your black panther party !!!! -FG

Last edited:

Mugwamp

As much as I do not like new laws, this is why we need a Federal Law that requires that any exotic big cats, pet wolfs, pet bears, etc. should have a micro chip implanted in them. That way they could be traced back to the yahoo who let it excape.
Best Regards Mugwamp

BCondor77