Boat #3 - Beginner Rebuild

Scallen2112

My wife just shook her head, turned, and walked back inside without a word.

Boat#3 (is it even possible to have too many boats) wont be ready to fish for at LEAST a year, probably more. But, the build will be fun - especially since I have never done this before. Looking for ideas to make it a totally custom fishing machine that is a cross between a center console and a bass boat. So, what's your favorite feature you have seen in a small center console?

gpgy6Z.jpg

baddave

baitwells w/access from both ends / walking space/ rod storage /room for a big tackle box and still have walking room/ sonar w/ gps/gps trolling mtr is super cool/ on board battery charger/raw water wash/ all stainless steel hardware if you think you might bay fish

Ihunt

A bigger trailer? Looks too small.

Jim Baker

Staff member
Trailer definitely needs new bunk system at the least.

Horizontal Rod Storage. Accessible battery storage up front for trolling motor. Easy access fuse panel. Platforms front and back. As much storage as possible for the necessities like PDFs, tool box, Flares, ETC.

Scallen2112

Trailer definitely needs new bunk system at the least.

Horizontal Rod Storage. Accessible battery storage up front for trolling motor. Easy access fuse panel. Platforms front and back. As much storage as possible for the necessities like PDFs, tool box, Flares, ETC.

I am going to change the layout for platforms front and back, like a bass boat. I was a mechanical designer before I retired, so once I get it hogged out and start the transome, I am going to play around with it on Autocad and see how many feature (that I think I am capable of building) I can stuff into it.

I think I can get three rod tubes per side running into the front deck. I may or may not put a few on the side of the console.