Calabashed Crustaceans

Duff

I’d eat that for breakfast this morning!

Deer Fanatic

Cool ? Useless Billy Deer Guide
That plate would make me verrry happy!!! Just cause I'm stoopid-- what makes them Calabashed???

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
That plate would make me verrry happy!!! Just cause I'm stoopid-- what makes them Calabashed???
Just the style of cooking them, named for the little town of Calabash, NC that is famous for its fried seafood. Lightly breaded in a thin egg wash and seasoned flour, then deep-fried.

Dub

That looks delicious.

One of my favorite meals of all time......when I get to some days off I will most assuredly be cooking up that same menu. Great looking meal.

blood on the ground

Cross threading is better than two lock washers.
Can you give us the skinny on your fries.. I've made home cut, real deal fries for years and I ain't (other than when I worked in a restaurant) made fries that look that good... And they turn out limber

Nicodemus

The Recluse
Staff member
I was looking for a pipe or a gourd, but that plate looks mighty fine.

Bream Pole

Going tomorrow to Cresent Ga on the coast and buy some georgia white shrimp from a good friend who owns a dock and 2 or 3 boats. Boat coming in in the morning I hope or sometime tomorrow. Will know time tonight. One of my favorite foods. And I like lightly floured also.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Can you give us the skinny on your fries.. I've made home cut, real deal fries for years and I ain't (other than when I worked in a restaurant) made fries that look that good... And they turn out limber
A lot of it depends on the taters. If you have some "new" white taters, you can just cut 'em and drop 'em at about 350. And it sounds simple, but cook them until they're done. A lot of people try to cook fresh taters like they would store-bought frozen fries that are already half-cooked, but it takes a whole lot longer.